October 13, 2014-CANNES

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has unveiled the nominations for the 2014 International Emmy Awards, with nominees spanning 19 countries.


The actors nominated for best performance are Stephen Dillane in The Tunnel (U.K.), Claude Legault in 19-2 (Canada), Pablo Rago in Televisión por la Justicia (Argentina) and Xiubo Wu in The Orphan of Zhao (People’s Republic of China).

The best actress nominees are Tuba Büyüküstün in 20 Dakika/20 Minutes(Turkey), Olivia Colman in Broadchurch (U.K.), Romina Gaetani in Televisión por la Justicia (Argentina) and Bianca Krijgsman in De Nieuwe Wereld/The New World (Netherlands).

The series up for best drama are Prófugos (Chile), The Tunnel (France), Utopia(U.K.) and Yae’s Sakura (Japan).

For comedy series, the nominees are Please Like Me (Australia), Late Nite News with Loyiso Gola (South Africa), The Mayor’s Wife (Brazil) and Wat als 2?/What if? Season 2 (Belgium).

The documentary nominees are De Volta/Going Back (Brazil), Frihet bakom galler/No Burqas Behind Bars (Sweden), No Fire Zone: The Killing Fields in Sri Lanka (U.K.) and Phantoms of the Border (South Korea).

There are four nominees for non-scripted entertainment: Educating Yorkshire(U.K.), MasterChef China (People’s Republic of China), Missie Mosango(Belgium) and O Infiltrado (Brazil).

30 Lives: Maxim Bouchard/30 Vies (Canada) is nominated for best telenovela, alongside Belmonte (Portugal), My Husband’s Lover (Philippines) and Precious Pearl (Brazil).

Facing off in the TV movie/miniseries category are Alexander and Other Heroes(Brazil), An Adventure in Space and Time (U.K.), Radio (Japan) and Unsere Mütter, Unsere Väter/Generation War: The Motion Comic (Germany).

Pasión Prohibida/Forbidden Love (U.S.A.) and La Patrona/The Return (U.S.A.) are nominated alongside El Señor de los Cielos (U.S.A.) and Temple de Acero/Unbreakable (U.S.A.) for best non-English language U.S. prime-time program.

The arts programming nominees are El Informe Kliksberg II - El otro me importa (Argentina), The Exhibition (Canada), Nonfiction W: Picture Book Touch, Feel, and Fragility (Japan) and Wagnerwahn - Mythos und Machenschaften des Richard Wagner/The Wagner Files (Germany).

Winners will be announced at a black-tie ceremony on November 24 at the Hilton New York Hotel. In addition to the presentation of the International Emmy Awards for programming and performances, the Academy will present two special awards. Mad Men creator, Matthew Weiner will receive the 2014 International Emmy Founders Award. Roberto Marinho Irineu, the CEO and president of Globo Organization, will receive the 2014 International Emmy Directorate Award.

“In these troubled times in many places around the world, it is gratifying to see so many countries and organizations still striving and competing for excellence in television programming,” said Bruce L. Paisner, the president and CEO of the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. “That is part of the magic of television and of the Emmy.”

By Kristin Brzoznowski WorldScreen.com